Tags

, , ,

One of my favourite go-to blogs, the Retronaut, posted some vintage circus photography set around the same historical timeperiod of the world I’ve set my book, Pantomime, within (late Victorian, though some photos are newer). I’d already written the book by the time these photographs went up on the blog, but they helped cement the atmosphere in my mind when I started editing again. My favourites are re-posted below. I’ve captioned the images after some of the characters that they remind me of.

Aenea on the tightrope

Aenea on the tightrope

Nina the Snake Charmer

Nina the Snake Charmer

Karla the Equestrienne

Karla the Equestrienne

Drystan the White Clown

Drystan the White Clown

Aenea The Aerialist

Aenea The Aerialist

Aenea and Micah

Aenea and Micah

Aenea and Micah in the Big Top
Aenea and Micah in the Big Top

