Tags

, , , , , ,

2013 was, overall, a very good year. Busy, and at times stressful, but overall, good. There were no catastrophes. My health was sound. I was surrounded by friends and family, did not have to worry about finances, and was able to travel. I had my first book out and now, at the end of the year, my second book has arrived and evidently is already available in some shops. I have a lot of be thankful for.

So, writing round-up. In 2013 I:

- Launched Pantomime, out into the big, wide world.
Edited Shadowplay at least 3 times. No idea of word count, as 10k was cut overall but there were plenty of tweaked scenes and such.
- Wrote 15k of Project GSS before I started over and re-wrote the 30k I had from 3rd person to 1st person. Then I decided it still wasn’t working so I changed the setting and plot and started over again and wrote 40k. Feedback says the 40k is vastly improved but needs more development, historical research, and expansion before I move towards the rest of the story, which is what I expected to hear.
- Wrote Bonkers Book, which was originally 66k, and has now grown to 74k in the second draft. That’s out with betas.
- Wrote 18k of Project M, and will hopefully be writing more of that in the new year.
- Wrote a Drystan short story called “The Snake Charm,” which is 10k.
- I’m a bit into another Drystan short story called “The Card Sharp,” which I’ll maybe finish by the end of this year, but unsure. I’m still not entirely sure what I’ll do with these short stories.
- Planned a Cyan short story called “The Tarot Reader”, but haven’t started it yet.
- Wrote a very short story for Halloween called The Ghost of Gold and Grey, which ties into project GSS.
- Wrote a poem of linked haiku called “Bamboo Moon” which is a lesbian re-telling of a Japanese fairy tale.
- I wrote about 40 guest posts, plus kept this blog up to date
- Events: spoke at Napier University, Gordonstoun school, Keith Academy, and Dollar Academy, appeared on SCHMU Radio, had a Pantomime launch at Forbidden Planet in London and Waterstones in Aberdeen, had another signing at the other Waterstones branch (now sadly closed), went to WFC in Brighton, and was a guest at the Inverness Book Festival.

Non-writing-wise, I continued to work full-time at my job as a document controller and did half of a PgCert in Information Management, which I received in May 2013. I’ve been better about fitness and go to the gym around 2-3 times a week, mainly doing yoga and running. I was able to travel, and went to the Czech Republic and Germany at the end of last year/start of this year. I also went to London and Edinburgh a few times, to Brighton, Barcelona, Amsterdam, and soon I’m flying back to San Francisco.

Put together – goodness me, but I was busy. No wonder I’m always tired.

Here’s one photo from each month, which I think gives a good overall picture of the year:

January:
2013januaryCesky Krumlov, Czech Republic.

February. I’m doing two photos for this month as in March I was a hermit and can’t find any photos of anything during that time:

2013februaryWaterstones Aberdeen launch.

2013february2
London launch at Forbidden Planet.

April:

2013April
Signing at Waterstones Langstane (now sadly closed).

May:

2013May
Pantomime on the bestsellers paperback list at Gatwick airport in London.

June:
2013june
The only photo I can find from that month is me showing off my spray tan. Yes, that is me with a spray tan. I am very pale.

July:
2013july
My friend Erica and I outside the Dali Museum in Figures, Spain.

August:
2013august
Heusden, Netherlands.

September:
2013september
With James Smythe, Sam Copeland, my agent Juliet Mushens, at Kim Curran’s and Bryony Pearce’s joint launch for Control and The Weight of Souls in London.

October:
2013october
A quiet evening with one of my cats, Mowgli.

November:
2013november
The best photo ever taken with a langoustine & Tad Williams. WFC 2013 in Brighton.

December:
2013december
Me with Pantomime & Shadowplay!