Tags

, ,

raceI never thought I’d run a race.

My senior year of university, I landed badly while doing a flip for my capoeira class. It twinged and then grew worse and worse, until I’d found out I’d sprained it in 2 places and had tendonitis. I had to be on crutches and then wear a walking cast for about 6 weeks. But that started a bunch of other problems. Because the right ankle was weakened, I kept spraining the left ankle. The ankle wouldn’t have a chance to grow stronger, even with physio, before I’d sprain it again. I spent over 1/3 of my last year of university in a walking cast. At one point I thought I might have to have surgery. I kept spraining them in increasingly lame ways. First it was the flip, then falling down stairs, then walking around, and once SITTING IN CLASS. My friend Collin had to carry me to his car and drive me to the emergency room at 10 at night, and my podiatrist didn’t believe me when I told her I’d done it while fidgeting at the end of class.

It was really annoying. Before I started spraining my ankles I was in really good shape, and then for about a year I couldn’t exercise much except for the exercise bike in my garage.

We finally figured out it was a combination of hypermobile ligaments and the fact that my left leg is slightly shorter than my right, so it put more stress on it. After another round of physio and shoe inserts and better shoes, I stopped tripping over myself and spraining my ankles so much. But I was still afraid to run outside because of the uneven ground, so I ran on treadmills for a long time. This year I started running outside and I’ve been fine (cross fingers). So I signed up for my first race with some work colleagues.

I wasn’t super fast, but I finished and ran pretty much the whole time. I finished in 1 hour, 5 minutes, and 52 seconds. I had fun. Craig took a video of me running past the finish line, raising my hands up high. It was a good feeling. I’m going to do it again.

