Impending NaNoWriMo

I decided I’m going to try being the hare rather than the tortoise for the month of November.

I’ve never been lured in by NaNo before. Last year I did a modified version and wrote 500 words a day. I’m quite a slow writer. I sit there and ponder. I outline fairly extensively. I chip away at a MS. I write in little spurts of 300 or 400-word days. Thus, when I have a full draft, it’s usually in fairly decent shape, but it takes me awhile to get there.

I’m going to see what I can knock out in a month, fully giving myself to write whatever comes into my head. I only have a very loose outline. I’m allowed to go off on tangents and write myself into corners and magically find a way out of them to race on. I’m just going to run with it and see what I come up with. The story, which is a fairly-straight-forward paranormal romance (something I enjoy reading for escapism but probably wouldn’t normally write) is set in another country of my made-up world. So even if I’m left with nothing but a huge, steaming pile of rubbish, I’ll at least have a better grip on that corner of the world I made up in my imagination.

I don’t know I’ll be a “winner”, but I’m sure as hell gonna try.

Who else is giving it a go?

Leave a Reply

