NaNoWriMo: Day 1, Or: What the hell have I gotten myself into?

Don’t worry–I don’t think I’ll do daily posts on NaNoWriMo.

I think I’m done for the day. I’m at 2,356 words, which isn’t bad.

They’re a shit 2,356 words. I’ve never written anything so rubbish (well, except for that novel I started when I was fifteen). I am abusing adverbs to an even greater extent. I’ll use three adjectives to describe a noun. My characters are so far not terribly interesting and not much has happened. My worldbuilding is shaky at best. I decided to make the great hall of the school where my characters go to school be a giant preserved ship that a previous pupil donated. Because why not?

I would not read this drivel. But I’m writing it. And I’m worried about how I’ll manage for 30 days on top of everything else I have going on. Or how I’ll stay motivated when already my project seems terrible beyond measure. But we’ll see. It’s an experiment.

And if anyone wants to add me on NaNo, I’m staticsplit.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 1, Or: What the hell have I gotten myself into?

  1. Sounds terribly familiar 😉 But on the other hand, are some of those ideas you’re taking and making work – even if they’ll need a good rewrite in the second draft – ones which you might have discarded if you’d had more time to stop and consider?

    That’s not necessarily an awesome reason for keeping them, but NaNo does tend to support taking risks with ideas which might not usually be your go-to concepts, simply because you don’t have time to come up with anything else.

  2. When I went to my local Kick-Off meet, there was a multiple-year winner who told me to not bother about what I was writing, as long as I kept writing it. When actually confronted by the blank page, I found it pretty hard to let go of the niggling sensation that every word I put down had to be the *right one*.

    It’s a balance, I guess. I don’t think I could honestly keep it up if I thought what I was writing was genuinely bad, stuff that couldn’t be saved or polished up later; if I wrote at my normal pace, though, I’d be on a 80-day November.

  3. I do my best to hit the target word count each day without going too far over. It helps keep me fresh as possible and gives me time to formulate and sleep on further plot developments. Pacing yourself in such a way might help you not feel quite so overwhelmed by the feeling of rubbish; it’s easier to dismiss 1,667 words of literary diarrhea per day than 3,524.

    It may end up not being how you work best, but if you come out with something salvageable, it won’t be a complete waste. Keep up the good fight!

Leave a Reply

