NaNoWriMo: Not a “winner”

Alas, November 2011 is not the month I’ll write 50,000 words on a project. I made it a little over halfway, and I proved to myself that I could do it if I wanted to. But, unfortunately, I have to recognize that I have too many other things that require my attention for the remainder of this month. I have university assignments looming, a full-time job, and ideas for my main novels which are a lot closer to publishable standards are interrupting the ideas for the NaNoWriMo.

I was using NaNoWriMo as procrastination. I was stuck on the end of my newest Novel-in-Waiting (I heard that term on Twitter and I love it), but this morning I started working on it again and I’m no longer stuck. So I’m getting back to that one, and planning some edits on other work, and getting back into the essays I really should be further along into by now.

So now I’m a cheerleader. I’m not technically a “winner” but I am definitely not a “loser.” I made it to 30k, which is more than I’ve written in a month before, and the month’s not over yet. I like the basis of my project and I think I’ll be able to rewrite it into a pretty good book sometime in the future.

Maybe I’ll hit 50k next November. Or hell, maybe I’ll make 50k in December or January.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo: Not a “winner”

  1. Well done anyway – I’m coming to a similar realisation myself. I’m going to have one last push, but I’m not going to write (even worse) garbage just to ‘win’.

    I recognise that this is the first time I’ve written creatively in 20 years, and that I need to do a lot of work on improving my writing, and learning my craft. I’ve got 27,000 words down in three weeks all of a sudden, which is great. I’m a bit stuck as to where to take the story next, but I know it’s a good story. It’s worth perservering with and getting polished, getting right. Is forcing myself through 10 more days of madness the best way to carry on?

    Or, rather, do I now have enough down on paper already to make it worth getting my red pen and ‘how to write’ books out… and revise, revise, revise, while letting the ideas for the next set of chapters brew for a while until they are ready. This seems like a more rational choice!

Leave a Reply

