Holding my Breath in Purgatory

I’ve started testing the agent waters for my book, Pantomime. You can read a blurb and the first chapter here, if you’re interested. So far it’s been getting quite a positive response and going better than I expected.

So now I’m trying to figure out what to do while I wait. I’ve started poking at the sequel –the plot is fairly nailed down and I have nearly 5,000 words. I’ve also been fiddling about with my adult novel that features the same protagonist as Pantomime, Micah Grey. It was actually the book I started first, but then I decided to write a “short story” about my character’s childhood and got a little carried away. It spiraled into a YA trilogy. Oops. I’ve also got a few short stories knocking about in my head. But I can’t figure out which I should focus on, and so progress has been scattered.

Otherwise, I’m still researching magicians and Victorian medicine and getting twitchy whenever I see I have a new email notification.

4 thoughts on “Holding my Breath in Purgatory

  1. I have a love/hate relationship with my inbox. If only I did some writing instead of spending time checking email, twitter, or facebook for any mention, real or imagined, of my work.

    I hear you on the multiple ideas, so little time. Sometimes it feels like you just need to get it out so you can move on to the next. That, of course, is difficult when there are four tales that need to be expelled.

    Anyway, good luck with your queries!

    1. Oh, same. Yesterday I went to the cafe to try and write, and I ended up spending most of the time hitting F5 on my inbox and staring out the window and daydreaming, hah.

      Thank you! I hope you get some exciting mail as well. 🙂

  2. I’m in the same boat more or less, at the querying stage. I’m 50000 words into the sequel thanks to Nano, and I really want to get back and finish the next book. But I’m holding off until I hear something positive back about book 1, and making a start on an entirely new writing project.

    My thinking is, if I can’t get people to love the first book, I need to try an entirely new tack with brand new characters. I think it’s also a good idea to have at least two stories on the go at any time, so you can swap between them when you need to put one aside to get a bit of distance so you’re in the right frame of mind for editing.

    You should probably do those short stories now. In between one book and the next is the perfect time for it, and the BFS short story competition is coming up soon.

Leave a Reply

