Strange Coincidences: Somnambulist

Today I’m pleased to welcome Lee Harris, editor of Angry Robot Books, to the blog.

I’ve always enjoyed horror films – Hammer was practically my babysitter during my formative years, and because I watched so many horror films, I became quite desensitized to them. They rarely frightened me. But one film I saw left a lasting impression. I don’t recall the name of the film, but it was about a young woman who used to sleepwalk a lot. In one scene she walked into a long cupboard-like room, and as the door closed, the objects on the shelves started to move – a bust turned to face her, a toy monkey started clashing its cymbals, that sort of thing. It freaked me out, and I had nightmares about it for weeks.

And then, one night, quite a few years later, I was babysitting for a friend of my mother. The toddler was up in bed, and I sat reading for hours. And out of the blue, that scene came into my head, and I hadn’t thought about it for years. I remembered the woman walking into the closet, and the bust turning to face her, and the monkey clashing its cymbals. Well, it put me off my reading, somewhat, so I turned on the TV. And what should be on? Not just that film, but that scene in the film.

Yeah, it got turned off again, right away!”

A huge thanks to Lee for taking the time for this post.

I’d really love a few more stories to round out the month, so please feel free send one to me via my contact form.

One thought on “Strange Coincidences: Somnambulist

Leave a Reply

