Before I Wrote…I Drew

I was procrastinating on all the various things I should do and poking around what my FB page looks like to the public again. It’s sort of fun doing that because the only content that is visible is stuff from around 2007, so it’s like I step back in time. This time I found a link to a bunch of my artwork I had photographed and put up in a contest. They didn’t win. What’s sort of strange though is that some of the motifs I drew are now in my fiction.

I used to draw quite often. I found it soothing, and the intricate ones were especially good for my anxiety. I’d listen to music full blast and draw away, my mind wandering, feeling calm. Even if the pieces look anything other than calm.

When I have more time (if I ever have more time), I’d like to get back into art with ink and graphite instead of just art with the printed word.

There are more below the cut (warning: there’s one drawing of a nude woman):

36_13291312 37_84875087

38_5284787 38_87198326 39_1929442 40_36089324 47_39493595 48_95298986 49_77334984 50_36990613

3 thoughts on “Before I Wrote…I Drew

  1. Oh wow, Laura, these are amazing! The level of detail just blows me away. Each piece must have taken so much time!

    I can’t imagine how much concentration that second piece must have taken, and your grasp of facial symmetry in the second-to-last picture and lighting it the last one…

    I hope you find the time to get back into art in the future. 🙂 My own little doodles help my writing in small ways, but your work here is on a whole other level. It’s all *beautiful*.

  2. These are gorgeous. I love the third one down… I could look at it for ages. And the last one is beautiful – such skill in the light and shadow. Stunning images!

Leave a Reply

