Catch-up Post

Event!

I have a signing next Saturday, April 13, at the Waterstones (Langstane branch – the one by Bon Accord St) in Aberdeen. It starts at 1 pm, and it might go until 3, or until it seems like I’m just sitting there by myself. πŸ˜‰ It’d be wonderful if you could come or tell people who might be interested about it. I’m numbering the first 500 signed copies of Pantomime, so who knows, maybe they’ll be an investment down the line πŸ˜‰

Faceboook Event Page

Books read in March:

Geek Girl – Holly Smale (contemporary, YA, model, humour). I know Holly on Twitter and was just in the mood for a light fun read when this book came out. I devoured it in a day. Harriet Manners, self-proclaimed-geek-turned-model is clever and self-deprecating, and while the plot might be a bit predictable, it’s a fun journey. And if you think the idea of getting plucked from a mall to become a high fashion model sounds far-fetched–it happened to Holly!

Tokyo Vice: An American Reporter on the Police Beat in Japan – Jake Adelstein (nonfiction, memoir, japan, crime). Craig read this about a year ago and I finally got around to reading it. It’s a really interesting look at a world I didn’t know much about.

Writing the Other – Nisi Shawl & Cynthia Ward (nonfiction, writing, diversity). Considering most of my writing addresses the notion of “the other” in some way, I thought I’d give this a quick read. I felt I learned a few things from it.

The Girls – Lori Lansen (contemporary, conjoined twins, canada). A beautifully written book about two conjoined twins growing up in rural Canada. One of my favourite reads this year.

Some stuff:

I had a nice review in SoSoGay magazine (reveals “spoilers”)

I had an interview at Pen to Paper, and Dani ran a giveaway for a signed copy of Pantomime.

That’s all for now. Finishing up edits on Shadowplay to give to my editor at the end of the month, plus lots of uni work. I do miss free time.

 

Leave a Reply

