November Writing Goals: The Verdict

eat-sleep-write-nanowrimo Last month, though I didn’t participate in NaNoWriMo, I did have some writing-related goals and shared them here.

How did I do?

1. Finish the draft of my WIP. CHECK! I wrote about 17,000 words and finished the first draft of Bonkers Book, which is currently 67,000 words. It’ll definitely be beefed up in edits, probably to around 80k. The ending is rather rough (ahahaa it makes no sense), but still, it’s done! It’s by far the fastest I’ve ever drafted and again by far the most fun I had while drafting. It’s so very, very different from my other work that it was freeing and refreshing to stretch out different writing muscles. Even if nothing happens with this book (though I hope that’s not the case), this book drove home how much I love writing. I’ve heard people mention a lifeline book before and didn’t know what that meant. Now I do.

2. Try not to freak out as Shadowplay reviews trickle in. FAIL. I wasn’t TOO freaked out, but I was definitely nervous. I’ve had enough come in now that I feel reasonably confident that not everyone will hate it and be horrifically disappointed, so that’s a relief. I’ve also made good progress on the blog tour and wrote about eight posts to be sent back to bloggers, so in that respect, CHECK.

3. Send off an application to the Scottish Book Trust to be on their author database for Live Literature. CHECK! Though I haven’t heard back and need to follow up. I’m also in the process of joining another group, so DOUBLE CHECK.

BONUS STUFF: Went to a convention in Brighton, I wrote a poem, planned another short story, put up some free fiction on the blog, and also wrote a few other entries. I finished up a few beta-reads. So, it’s not NaNoWriMo, but it’s a good month’s work around the day job just the same.

One thought on “November Writing Goals: The Verdict

Leave a Reply

