Pantomime is a Cybils Finalist!

cybilsSo far, I approve of 2014. A few months ago, I learned that Pantomime was nominated for the Cybils Blogger award. I woke up and checked my Twitter to discover that it’s now one of the 7 finalist titles for the YA Speculative Fiction section! I’m so excited.

The website states:

Magical, atmospheric and spellbinding, Pantomime is more than just a story about a circus. With complex worldbuilding, full of culture, mythology, and magic, Lam manages to weave a story full of intrigue and emotion. Lam’s characters are fully realized and three-dimensional and the way Lam presents Micah’s struggle with gender identity and sexuality is handled deftly and without being didactic. Pantomime is a touching, complex, and fantastic story of a teen struggling to find a place in the world; a timeless theme.

— Sarah Mulhern Gross, TheReadingZone

Congratulations to the other shortlisted titles as well:

Conjured by Sarah Beth Drust (which has magicians and a carnival, so I’m sold!)
Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers (I’ve seen her on the shelf next to mine because of our last names. Plus – an assassin nun? Awesome.)
Shadows by Robin McKinley (I read so many of her books as a teen that this is very surreal to be on a shortlist with her. Beauty was one of the books that made me want to write)
The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson (heard nothing but amazing things about this, and it was an io9 book club pick)
The Waking Dark by Robin Wasserman (also heard really good things about this, too)
William Shakespeare’s Star Wars – Ian Doescher (I hadn’t heard of this book before, but wow, it sounds like such a nerd dare: “I dare you to write a mashup of Shakespeare and Star Wars!” “Challenge accepted.” Would be interested in picking it up.)

So, if the rest of 2014 could continue in this trend, I would be okay with that.

Leave a Reply

