Books Read in December (plus a 2013 roundup)

And so 2013 is gone. Here’s what I read in its last month:

1. Fables Vol 7: Arabian Nights – Bill Willingham

2. Fables Vol 8: Wolves – Bill Willingham

3. Fables Vol 9: Sons of Empire – Bill Willingham

mapping the mind4. Mapping the Mind – Rita Carter. I really recommend this book if you have an interest in neuroscience. Engagingly written and understandable to people with a limited scientific background. The human mind is an extraordinary thing.

5. Dragonfly in Amber – Diana Gabaldon. A strong follow up to the first book. At some point I’ll continue the series.

6. Fables Vol 10: The Good Prince – Bill Willingham

7. Fables Vol 11: War and Pieces – Bill Willingham

8. Fables Vol 12: The Dark Ages – Bill Willingham

9. Fables Vol 13: The Great Fables Crossover – Bill Willingham. Obviously I’m continuing my Fables re-read, though now I’ve reached the part of the series I haven’t read before. This volume crosses over with Unwritten (which I’ve read) and Jack of Fables (which I’m behind on)

10. About a Boy – Nick Hornby. As cute as the film.

conjoinedtwins11. Conjoined Twins: An Historical, Biological and Ethical Issues Encyclopedia – Christine Quigley. Research book – another very good one. I’ve had consistently good luck with non-fiction this year.

12. The Elites – Natasha Ngan. An engaging dystopia in Neo-Babel, starring a girl who discovers that everything she’s been lead to believe is a lie.

13. The Ghost of the Citadel (part 1 of The Copper Promise) – Jen Williams. Jen is a Team Mushens agency sister. I really enjoyed the first bit and love the idea in general of serialised e-fiction. Part 2 is out imminently, so I’ll pick that up too.

Totals for 2013:

82 books
26,078 pages (according to Goodreads), which is about 71 pages a day. But it’s probably less as I think Goodreads accounts for all of the pages, even if it’s copyright info, etc.

I started doing some OCD analytics to figure out how many YA versus fantasy versus nonfiction etc I read, but…I can’t really be bothered, and to be honest I don’t think anyone really cares! Goodreads does have a neat little pie chart, though:

Here’s the previous months’ recaps:

Books Read in November

Books Read in October

Books Read in September

Books Read in August

Books Read in July

Books Read in June

Books Read in May

Books Read in April

Books Read in March

Books Read in January & February

As a bonus, when looking through really old photos on my mom’s computer, I found my TBR list from 2004…ah, before Goodreads! I’ve read quite a number of these by now.

Leave a Reply

