Eastercon 2014: Satellite4

This past weekend I went to a con that, for once, didn’t involve a plane ride! It was just down the road in Glasgow and only required a short train journey. This was only my second convention since my books came out (I didn’t go to many last year), and the first one where I was on the programming.

It was a good con, with plenty of old friends and a few new ones.

On Friday I took an early train in and hung around, saying hello. The only programming bit I went to was the ceilidh workshop. I ate my first burrito in…a long time, as there’s not much Mexican food in Aberdeen. After seeing my friends I was staying with, I went back to the hotel for the ceilidh! There was much dancing with my dashing date for the evening, Andrew Reid.

Action shot with Jenny in the foreground. Photo courtesy of Juliet.
Action shot with Jenny in the foreground. Photo courtesy of Juliet.

If you’re not familiar with a ceilidh, it’s basically Scottish square dancing. I first discovered it at my friend Rhona’s wedding last month and really enjoyed it. It’s a lot of skipping and twirling, basically, and it’s completely fine if you don’t really know what you’re doing, as long as you laugh about it. Me and Andrew danced nearly every dance. It was a blast.

The next day, with slightly sore legs from all the skipping, I had a leisurely meal with my friend Grant before heading back to the con. I had my first-ever panel at three, which was on future representation with Stephanie Saulter, Ian Whates, Donna Bond, and moderated by Fran Dowd. I had worried that I wouldn’t have much to say, despite writing 5 pages of notes beforehand, but as we got going it turns out I had LOTS to say. We touched on race, the conservatism of SF and yet how it can be progressive, atyptical anatomies, LGBT content, disability, fan fiction, how Hollywood can often de-diversify SF books, and much more. It was a really good panel and every single seat was filled, so that was excellent.

panel1
Photocred: Juliet Mushens
panel3
Photocred: Donna Bond

Afterwards, Juliet and Den taught a swing dance, and that night there was a bit of dancing, but not near as much as the previous night, which was probably for the best for my feet. Saturday night also was a Cards Against Humanity outing, thanks to Tracy, a fellow ex-pat American. Quite a few of my friends had never played before, but as they’re all depraved it went over quite well. 😉

The Hugo nominations were announced, and I’m happy that my friends Wes Chu and Foz Meadows are on them (for the Campbell and Best Fan Writer, respectively), and Lee Harris of AR got a Best Editor nod, too, as well as many other good works and writers. Basically, huge congratulations to everyone except for the man whose name rhymes with Fox Ray, because he’s a racist rape apologist and the fact he’s on the ballot makes me sad (here are some posts if you’re not familiar with the background). There’s also some controversy over Wheel of Time being considered, since it’s such a longspanning series.

Sunday the late nights, bad food, and dehydration of the Hottest Hotel Ever began to take their toll and I was pretty exhausted. It was more hanging about the con, and one of the highlights of the day was making sock puppets with Sophie Calder and Lisa. It was like being back in Kindergarden. I was really proud of my sock puppet, which I named Let Them Sock Cake.

sockpuppets2
Immensely proud of the hat I made.
sockpuppets
We don’t look all that amused here, but I promise it was super fun.

In the evening, I went to the panel called Good Practice in Editing and Reviewing, which had Gollancz editor Marcus Gipps, freelance editor and writer Ruth Booth, another author/reviewer Jack Deighton, and my agent, Juliet Mushens of The Agency Group. It was a good panel looking at different viewpoints, and Gollancz editor Gillian Readfearn was an excellent moderator.

editingandreviewing

That evening we went out to the Bier Halle, which is a must-visit if you like beer and pizza and find yourself in Glasgow. So tasty! Monday was a brief visit and then a trip back to Aberdeen. Unfortunately, in the evening I started feeling pretty poorly and still feel very under the weather today.

The obligatory shout outs: I ended up mainly hanging out with: my agent, Juliet Mushens, Den Patrick, Andrew Reid, Rob Haines, Jenny Haines, Lisa, Emma Maree Urquhart, Tracy Berg, Marcus Gipps, Gillian Redfearn, and Sophie Calder. It was also nice to see some other familiar faces from twitter, such as Ann Smyth, Lor Graham, Ellie Hutchinson, Gianni Ceccarelli, Cam Johnston and more. I always feel nervous doing these shout outs because I know I’ll inevitably forget someone and feel like an idiot. Also, I’m too lazy to link all the names to their Twitter feeds, sorry.

The other cons I’ll be going to this year are: Nine Worlds, Loncon, and Fantasycon. Can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “Eastercon 2014: Satellite4

Leave a Reply

