Musings on Being a Baby Writer

BFSI’m so delighted that I’ve been nominated as Best Newcomer for Pantomime for the British Fantasy Awards. This was decided by a combination of votes and the panel of the society. Thank you to everyone who voted for me – it means so much!

Congratulations to everyone else on the nomination lists as well: look at all this talent.

I was speaking to Kim Curran about this awhile ago (she was nominated for Best Newcomer last year!): we’re NEWCOMERS. We’re still baby authors. We’re in the beginning stages of a whole new career. And if you think of it in terms of a career, we’re still junior authors. Still cutting our teeth and learning the ropes. There’s more promotions to come, new jobs at higher pay that might come along with more experience.

Sometimes it’s easy to be impatient, to wonder why things aren’t working out perfectly, why we’re not able to make a living off our words and jet off to the Caribbean whenever the mood takes us. I’m such a perfectionist that I’m so quick to say I’ve failed at something, when the ending isn’t yet written in stone.

Writing is for the long haul.

I’ve decades left of being a writer. It’s easy to see all the things we don’t have yet, and overlook all the achievements we’ve made. I started writing seriously in 2009-2010, rather than in little fits and spurts. I finished my first book in 2011. In 2012, I had a book deal. In 2013, the first book hit the shelves and it got a bunch of award nominations and one win. 2014, the second book came out, and just a few days ago, my first self-published story. This year I received two invites to anthologies. I’ll be releasing 3 other self-published works. 2015 will see at least my third book out, and maybe another, should the stars align. I’ve done a lot. Some people really enjoy my work. I have 18 single-spaced pages of notes from readers (I put it all together and look at it when I’m sad because I’m a sap–but these notes are PRECIOUS to me). I’ve got a lot going for me. I need to remember that, and not get so bogged down in the negatives, the what-ifs, the what-if-nots.

It’s easy for all of us to be in a hurry. But as long as we’re writing and working towards our goals, we’re not failures. Not by a long shot.

I have no idea what will happen in 2016, or 2010, or 2050, except this: I’ll still be writing.

Leave a Reply

