Books Read in June

zenintheartofwriting1. Zen in the Art of Writing – Ray Bradbury. A collection of essays on writing from a master. Smiled a bit while reading. His love of creating worlds and stories shone through. Recommended.

2. The Writer’s Digest Handbook of Short Story Writing – ed. by Frank A. Dickson. I read this while preparing for writing a short story. As it was on my mom’s bookshelf, I thought I’d see if I’d learn anything. I learned a few things, but some of the advice seemed dated.

3. The Silver Metal Lover – Tanith Lee. I have been meaning to read this for years since I’m interested in artificial intelligence. I heard of Tanith Lee’s passing, unfortunately, and it reminded me to read it. It’s about a young, rich girl falling in love with a robot designed to be artistic and a fantastic lover. At first, Jane was incredibly annoying, but she’s meant to be, and I enjoyed watching her come into her own. The world-building was really interesting, too. Recommended.

uk-uprooted4. Uprooted – Naomi Novik. A lush fantasy inspired by Polish fairytales. I really liked Agnieszka and the politics of the world and magic system. Definitely recommended, and thanks to Macmillan for the copy.

5. On Writing – Stephen King. I’m writing my dissertation for my masters, hence all the books on writing this month. I plan to use a few quotes. I read this back when I was a teenager and just starting to write. Re-reading it about 10 years later and something like 7 books’ worth of words later was interesting. My takeaway is that Stephen King and I have very different writing processes. And that’s okay.

I also beta read 1.75 books for friends, which always takes longer than just reading.

Total books in 2015: 36.

2 thoughts on “Books Read in June

  1. I read Silver Metal Lover years ago, and it’s just that weird kind of 1980s science fiction that is so immersive and satisfying. Sometimes I need to be in the right mood for Tanith Lee, though – I’ve found a lot of her teen stuff more fun than her adult work. I love how she describes the worlds that her characters live in, and the attention to the colour and texture around them.

    I may give Uprooted a go! I really didn’t get on with the Temeraire series – the first book was fun, but as it went on I became increasingly bored. I was really disappointed.

  2. I always meant to read Stephen King’s On Writing but have never gotten around to it. I’ve read his Eyes of the Dragon and enjoyed it but also get the sense that we have very different writing styles.

    Tanith Lee sounds interesting, I should give her a shot.

Leave a Reply

