Why the Circus and Elladan Worldbuilding

In the build up to the ebook re-release of Pantomime & Shadowplay next month (they are available for pre-order), I am reposting some of the articles I wrote in 2012/2013 for the initial blog tours. Just a note that the end of this article makes it seem like Gene and Micah are two people rather than the same person–this was the marketing approach taken the first time around, but that’s not the case this time.

Why the Circus and Elladan World-building

Big Show Main Entrance

This question has come up a few times in various interviews—why did I set your book in a circus? And the answer is that it was a happy accident.

Micah Grey was 27 when I started his story. I started a book with him in 2007 or so, but I kept struggling with that book. I thought a good idea would be to write about my character as a teenager, and I thought it would be interesting if he had been in a circus: it’d give him strength, flexibility, and theatrics. So I started a “short story,” which then became a long short story, and then a novella, a novelette, and then a novel. With sequels.

Read the rest on the Book Adoration blog!

Leave a Reply

